Changing Lives and Bringing History to Life, One Revolution at a Time!

Kyvon – July 15 First Day Back Cycling on the SnR #acaLewisClark Tour of Discovery

Kyvon

Today was the first day back on the bikes and like usual, I’m injured.  I rolled my ankle yesterday goofing around. Even thought I hurt my ankle I still kept riding.  For today to be our first day back we all rode pretty fast and we finished 21 miles in only an hour and 10 minutes.  After we finished that we took a break at a gas station.  Once we left the gas station we kept riding until my seat became loose on my bicycle. This happened while I was riding up a hill. So, I basically had to ride with no seat until I reached the top. I told Kevin that my seat fell so he gave me a tool to fix it. I tried to use the tool but it looked like it wasn’t working so I turned it harder until the piece that held it in place broke. Since we didn’t have any extra seat post clamps on the tour I couldn’t ride for the rest of the day.  It would be too painful on my ankle and knees if I rode with my seat broken.

After we put my bike in the trailer we drove to a state par to get water for the rest of the group and also to rest. Once we finished there we drove to a gas station wo wait for the rest of the group. We waited for a while and then we saw everyone pull in.  Some motorcyclist told us that we should wait out the approaching storm that was already in the next town called Whitehall because they had just gotten soaked. Soaked driving through there and that’s what we planned to do. Whitehall was our destination for the night.

Then a man came to Suepinda and basically told her that he had heard complaints about there being cyclists on the road and he didn’t want us on his land because he “didn’t like our kind”.  He also told us to not buy anything from his store and that we had to leave his property because he owned that gas station and half the county that we were in at the time.  Suepinda told him that we were just high school students just trying to stay out of the rain but he said he didn’t care and if we wanted to stay we had to pay for a campsite. I can’t believe something like this would happen in the west.  This is the only time someone has been anything but kind to us.

3 responses

  1. Lalanii

    Feel better soon Kyvon and hold your head up high , the guy that you all met was just a message on your journey that fear and hate is not just isolated to one part of the world or this country, your a Black man in America so the hate may seem magnified at times , but thats why you have to have life adventure like this one to challenge and strengthen your self / spirit through out your life. Thanks for keeping us with you…. by writing ….. about your adventure and lessons along the way ! with love Ms. Lalanii

    July 17, 2012 at 1:07 AM

  2. Arcylle Shaw

    I am so sorry that you got such awful treatment here – The owner of that gas station does not own half of the County that the station is in and most of this community would have opened their homes to you. Please don’t judge all of us by that experience.

    July 30, 2012 at 12:45 AM

    • Hi Georgina,

      The event happened in Cardwell, just 8 miles east of Whitehall. Our stay in Whitehall was fantastic thanks to Justin at Whitetail RV park. We enjoyed his company and hospitality. Thanks for your encouraging words. We don’t judge those in Whitehall by the actions of that one small man.

      August 2, 2012 at 11:42 AM

Leave a Reply

