Changing Lives and Bringing History to Life, One Revolution at a Time!

Day 22 – July 15, First day back on the bikes during the SnR #acaLewisClark Tour of Discovery

Maysa

Yesterday was our first day back on the bikes in 10 days and I must say that it felt really good.  I realized on the first 10 miles that I missed the little cracks in the road, the feeling of the wind and the steady beams of sunlight.  It was fun but I have to say that by the time we had 14 miles left I really started feeling the burn.  The adults told us we had about 45 miles to go because we were going to cycle to Twin Bridges, MT instead of Whitehall, MT.  When they told me that I  got a little discouraged. Even though the day was going well I don’t think I could have made that last 45 miles.  I was glad when they told us they’d changed their minds and only had 14 miles left. After our break we noticed that there were huge storm clouds for miles and miles.  We cycled for 7 miles through strong head winds and some scattered drizzling rain.  The view was beautiful.  I wish I had my camera with me.

Going to the next town went fast. Because the weather was getting worse we stopped at a gas station. We decided that we would wait out the storm there.  About 20-30 minutes had passed when the owner of the gas station and half the county (so he proclaims) came up to my mom and told her that we had to leave the property or buy a campsite because he doesn’t like “our kind”.  My mother told him our situation and he blatantly told her he didn’t care.  I personally have never been put in a situation like that before.  It really shocked me that he said that and didn’t care what we did so long as we left.  It was kind of bummer on a good day. When we left we had about 8 miles to go. Just as we started to get down the road it started to rain.

The rain felt like little needles. It had gotten pretty cold but the ride went fast.  Where our campground was there was no rain so we all chilled outside until we had to go to bed.  I was pretty tired so I ended up going to bed before I normally do, which is around 10:30pm. I had a good night’s sleep.

2 responses

  1. Lalanii

    I love you ! thanks for sharing, you so write like a artist….. visually in words !

    For you, I think of the past two years alone…… Your ancestors want your eyes open to the world & all its intricate personalities , its all apart of your journey . Remember…….. & build on these experiences. Observe, reflect on its meaning and always see the larger picture. Keep being you ! and don’t get lost in the hype !

    July 17, 2012 at 1:54 AM

    • Thank you Lalanii for all of your great comments. Later this afternoon I will show them to the cyclists.
      They’re strong and let that slide off their back like water on a duck. In contrast they met wonderful people that very night in Whitehall, MT and great people here at the KOA in Dillon, MT. Great people always outnumber the ARSes

      July 17, 2012 at 9:23 AM

Leave a Reply

