Changing Lives and Bringing History to Life, One Revolution at a Time!

Kate’s July 14 Blog Entry for the SnR #acaLewisClark Tour of Discovery

KateThe past 10 days has, in my opinion, been where I learned the most. Visiting the National Parks was a completely new experience for me because I’ve never been to such naturally beautifully preserved areas before. Specially with ones with so much history. I loved learning about the Lakota Sioux and their Native American history. I feel so inspired by their art and way of life.

It was also fascinating to piece together the Lewis and Clark history. I’ve learned with the places I’ve been to. It’s easy to imagine what was going on through their heads as they traveled westward and discovered all the places like the Dakota Badlands, Tetons and the Black Hills.  Overall this trip has been one fo the hardest things I’ve done; both physically and mentally challenging. But it has also been one of the best decisions I’ve made as I can’t count how many amazing experiences I’ve hat that I would not have had the opportunity to do so, otherwise.

Since I’m leaving tomorrow I’m filled with different emotions. I’m upset to go because I know there are so many things ahead in Oregon and California that I’ll be missing.  At the same time ‘m excited to go because I can’t wait to tell people I know about my experiences. And, of course, have a home cooked meal.

To anyone who asks me if they should consider going on a trip like this I will tell them to think hard about it. But if they can, go without a backward glance.  I’m so happy and appreciative to be able to be a part of this trip and am excited to be a part of this organization and to watch it grow in the future.

One response

  1. Lalanii

    Kate thanks for making the journey & glad to hear you had the Lakota Sioux experience (a powerful & spirited people) I hope the challenges & wonders you experienced will remind you today & later in life that you are powerful !
    My daughter Ife had to leave the adventure last year early (to prep for her college journey) & she had so many mixed emotions about leaving the underground railroad trip. After she got home one of the hardest things was being separated from the team & she did not realize how connected she was to them her first week away from them & being on the road. She will & I know you will manifest this experience into the other areas of your life.

    July 17, 2012 at 1:25 AM

Leave a Reply

